Requirements/Scope Management - Part 3. Introduction to PMBoK

What is PMBoK

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge is a book published by Project Management Institute. It presents a set of standard terminology and guidelines for project management.

The Third Edition (2004) was recognised as a standard by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers — IEEE 1490-2003.

The Fourth Edition (2008) was recognized by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) as an ANSI/PMI 99-001-2008.

PMBoK is process-based

The PMBOK Guide is process-based, meaning it describes work as being accomplished by processes.

The Guide recognizes 42 processes that fall into five basic process groups and nine knowledge areas.

Processes are described in terms of:

  • Inputs (documents, plans, designs, etc.)
  • Tools and Techniques (mechanisms applied to inputs)
  • Outputs (documents, products, etc.)

Process groups

  • Initiating
  • Planning
  • Executing
  • Monitoring and Controlling
  • Closing

Knowledge areas

  • Project Integration Management
  • Project Scope Management
  • Project Time Management
  • Project Cost Management
  • Project Quality Management
  • Project Human Resource Management
  • Project Communications Management
  • Project Risk Management
  • Project Procurement Management

Typical project contains 4 to 9 phases. Each knowledge area contains set of processes needed to be completed.

Table 1. Project Management Process Groups and Knowledge Areas Mapping


  1. IBM Rational Unified Process.
  2. Applying Requirements Management with Use Cases.